The ALS Association
ALS Ice Bucket Challenge Progress

The ALS Association Supports Outstanding Clinician Scientists

In partnership with the American Academy of Neurology, The ALS Association proudly supports young clinician scientists through annually awarding fellowships, including the Clinical Research Training Fellowship and the Clinician-Scientist Development Award. These fellowships are designed to recruit talented, promising young scientists who propose innovative clinical ALS studies and to foster their development to make significant contributions to ALS research.

Since 2006, The ALS Association (ALSA) and American Brain Foundation (ABF) have supported eleven Clinical Research Training Scholarships (CRTS) and Clinician Scientist Development Awards (CSDA). These highly regarded awards attract researchers of the highest caliber in field of ALS. Not only do these awards launch innovative research by the investigators, they also provide a bridge to NIH and other funding, with over half (7) of the recipients going on to receive national funding including T32, R21, and K08 awards. These ALS awards are essential for the development of therapies and cures for ALS as they create a pipeline of early-career neurologists and post-docs who want to devote a portion of their careers to research.

Fellowship Details

The Clinical Research Training Fellowship in ALS Research is a commitment of $55,000 per year over a two-year period.

The Clinician-Scientist Development Award in ALS Research is a commitment of $75,000 per year over a three-year period.

Fellowship Recipients

2017 Recipients

2016 Recipients

2015 Recipients

Past Recipients

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software