Skip to Main Content
Walk To Defeat ALS

Search Our Site

Talk to Us

We're just a phone call or mouse click away. Find help here.

Share Print

Major ALS Research Awards Presented at 2013 AAN Meeting

March 12, 2013

The ALS Association and the American Academy of Neurology (AAN) will present two important ALS research awards during AAN’s annual meeting (March 16-23) in San Diego, Calif.  The Sheila Essey Award for ALS Research is being presented to Rosa Rademakers, Ph.D. and Bryan Traynor, M.D., Ph.D.  Working independently, these two scientists identified a mutation in the C9orf72 gene.  Click here to read the press release.

Also, during the meeting, the Richard Olney AAN/ALS Association Clinician Scientist Development Award will be presented to James Berry, M.D., M.P.H.  Dr. Berry will lead a study to characterize immune system changes that may be used as a biomarker in ALS.  To read this press release, click here.

The ALS Association - 1275 K Street NW - Suite 250 - Washington, DC 20005
All content and works posted on this website are owned and copyrighted by The ALS Association. ©2015

Lou Gehrig® used with permission of the Rip Van Winkle Foundation /